May 01, 2013

Deb Carey Named As One of 2013 Women of Achievement



Wisconsin Women in Government Announces 2013 Women of Achievement and Undergraduate Scholars

Women of Achievement in Business and Scholarship Recipients to Be Honored at May 7thGala in Madison   


MADISON – Wisconsin Women in Government (WWIG) today announced the recipients of the 2013 Women of Achievement awards and this year’s undergraduate scholarship winners. The four Women of Achievement will be honored alongside WWIG’s scholarship recipients at WWIG’s 26th Annual Scholarship and Recognition Gala on Tuesday, May 7th at the Monona Terrace in Madison. Tickets and sponsorship opportunities are still available at http://conta.cc/12utSFqand individual tickets can also be purchased at the door.


“WWIG is proud to support women at all stages of their career – from high school to distinguished professionals,” Lisa Schultz, WWIG President said. “This year, WWIG will honor four outstanding women in business as well as our talented scholarship winners including three undergraduate scholars. We invite everyone to join us in celebrating these accomplished women at our May 7th Scholarship Recognition Gala.”


This year’s Women of Achievement, leaders in the field of business are:

·        Cindy Brown, President of Chippewa Valley Bean

·        Deb Carey, Founder and President of the New Glarus Brewing Company

·        Camille Haney, Founder, Strategic Alliances, Inc.

·        Susan Lipp, Owner and Chairman of Full Compass Systems


The 2013 WWIG undergraduate scholarship recipients are:

·        Vicky Hunter, Nicolet Area Technical College

·        Kala Frueh, Marquette University

·        Cassandra Ramos, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


WWIG will also recognize its additional scholarship recipients, 2012 Bonnie Reese legislative intern Laura Shong, 2012 Badger Girls State Governor Kate Wehrman, and the 2013 La Follette Graduate Seminar graduates.


Women of Achievement

The four Women of Achievement were chosen from a competitive field of successful businesswomen nominated for their outstanding professional and civic contributions.


Cindy Brownis the President of Chippewa Valley Bean, the largest kidney bean processing facility in North America that exports 30 percent of its products internationally to countries such as Japan, Colombia, and Russia. She is also the president of Doane Ltd., a 4,000-acre sixth-generation family farm in the Chippewa Valley. In addition to the time she devotes to the family businesses, Brown has also been committed to helping those suffering from hunger and poverty around the world. She helped build a school in Haiti and established a first-of-its-kind micro farm in Ghana.


Deb Careyis the founder and president of New Glarus Brewing Co., which is well-known for “Spotted Cow” and its other Wisconsin beers. She was the first runner-up for the 2011 National Small Business Person of the Year and has been a long-time advocate for government policies that will have a positive impact on growth within the industry, particularly for small breweries trying to compete against much larger competitors. Earlier this year, Carey was an invited guest of President Barack Obama at his State of the Union Address where she sat with First Lady Michelle Obama during the speech.


Camille Haneybegan her career in the state Attorney General’s office and ultimately worked for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under former Secretary Tommy Thompson. She then moved into the private sector where she founded her own company, Strategic Alliances, Inc. which focuses on consumer advocacy. Haney is also committed to community service through her involvement with organizations such as the Boys & Girls Club and United Way.


Susan Lippis the Owner and Chairwoman of the Board for Full Compass Systems, a professional audio, visual, lighting and musical instrument company, and the fourth-largest woman-owned business in Wisconsin. She is also active in a number of community organizations, including serving on the Circus World Museum Board.


WWIG looks forward to honoring these Women of Achievement, while raising funds for its scholarships and programs, at this year’s scholarship recognition gala. WWIG will also recognize this year’s undergraduate scholarship winners.


Undergraduate Scholars

With the support of generous sponsors, WWIG provides undergraduate scholarships to make post-secondary education more accessible to women pursuing careers in public service. This year, Wisconsin Women in Government awarded three $3000 scholarships – one each to students enrolled in Wisconsin’s public, private and technical colleges, respectively. This year’s awardees are:


Vicky Hunter lives in Rhinelander and is pursuing an associate’s degree in the Administrative Professional program at Nicolet Area Technical College. She serves as President of the local chapter of Business Professionals of America and volunteers for the Special Olympics and cancer research. She returned to school after 30 years and is a mother and a grandmother. Vicky also works at the Wisconsin State Public Defenders office in Rhinelander.


Kala Fruehis known as an astute problem solver and she aspires to one day become a member of the C.I.A. She served as a volunteer on the Burlington Rescue Squad and is pursuing a degree in psychology and criminology at Marquette University. She is distinguished by her commitment to serving her community and her inspiring personal story.


Cassandra Ramosis a third-year student at UW-Milwaukee and she found her calling to public service through a Chicano social justice student organization. Cassandra is pursuing a degree in social welfare and has a distinct passion and advocacy for policies of social justice. She is from West Bend. Her professional goal is to work in deterrence programs in the juvenile justice system and on fair immigration policies.


At this year’s banquet, Wisconsin Women in Government will also honor Jennifer Boyce, a 2010 WWIG Graduate Seminar alumna who passed away this year. Jennifer’s love for community and her dedication to the well-being of the people of Wisconsin will live long past her senseless death.


This year’s gala features keynote speaker Laura Schwartz. Laura Schwartz, a professional speaker, television commentator, and author of Eat, Drink, & Succeed, was born and raised in Plymouth, Wisconsin. Schwartz began as an intern in the Clinton White House and rose to White House Director of Events for the Clinton Administration, where she executed more than 1,000 events.


Over the past 26 years, WWIG has awarded over $1 million in scholarships to women pursuing careers in government service, including undergraduate scholarships, the La Follette Graduate Seminar program, Badger Girls State, and other programs.


For more information on tickets and sponsorship opportunities, please visit: wiscwomeningovernment.org. Individual tickets are $65 and can also be purchased at the door.


“We thank our generous sponsors for their continued support of WWIG and for enabling us to support women pursuing careers in government service,” Lisa Schultz added. "If you cannot attend the event, please consider sponsoring WWIG's great scholarships and programs by making a donation today."


- END -